Loving this weather!

Posted on April 1, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

For lunch I had a veggie quesadilla. I put diced tomatoes with chili peppers, pepper jack cheese, corn, black beans, and spinach all into a spinach wrap.

Grilled it to perfection

Yum

I usually top it with a little bit of Greek yogurt but I’m all out.

I also had a handful of walnuts and lots of water.

It was a gorgeous day here in Tampa! I spent a couple of hours by the pool, reading an article on surveillance (fun stuff).

I am taking a class that deals with chronic diseases and I have learned a lot about how much diet and exercise really do contribute to a healthy body and life.  A lot of chronic diseases (type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and even some cancers) are the result of an unhealthy diet combined with a physically inactive lifestyle.  Talk about incentives for staying healthy!

I am mentioning this because in this class I have also learned about interventions directed by different government agencies.  There is a ridiculous amount of advertisement on tv for fast food chains, pizza, calorie dense at-home meals, etc, but never any television advertisements for the CDC’s “More Matters” program or the like.  For those that don’t know what this is, it’s a program the Center for Disease Control initiated to urge people to eat more fruits and veggies in their diet.  I had actually never heard of More Matters until this class.  Now that I know what it is I have seen logos on foods (such as bags of carrots) for the program but if someone is uneducated about the program how do they know what More Matters means (especially a lot teens that spend the majority of their time in front of a tv)?

The CDC obviously does excellent work but I wish it had the advertising funds that commercial companies have.  Do you think more money should go towards advertisements for CDC recommendations? Why or why not?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Loving this weather!”

RSS Feed for From 14 to 4! Comments RSS Feed

I definitely think so! I always love the Small Steps commercials and always thought that there should be more of that!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

