Hello world!

Posted on April 1, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

My first post! Where to start?  I was active in high school and never worried about weight. During undergrad I managed to pack on major pounds ( about 60).  I have lost 50 of those lbs which you can read about it the “about me” section.  I have also provided comparison photos of the larger version of me and me now.  I don’t have a fancy camera (10 mega pixel samsung) so the quality of my photos won’t be as awesome as some other bloggers.

I had a smoothie for breakfast with 1 cup soy milk, strawberries, and 1 small banana. Yum. Smoothies have become my new addiction.

No exercise today.  I am trying to increase my pace for my 5k that I am running on April 10th.  It will be my first 5k ever!! But during the past week I have been getting pretty bad post-run shin splints! Ouch.  Anyone have any good recommendations for relieving them?  I have iced them which helps a little.  So far this week I have run a total of 10.7 miles at an average pace of 9:49.  Not too bad, not too good.

One thing you will learn is I am very competitive with myself.  I enjoy pushing myself harder and knowing I can do more than I think I can.

I will post again later this evening with pictures of food and maybe some things which are a little more interesting.  I need to finish my HIV/AIDS report which I have been neglecting since I formed this blog and possibly lay by the pool for a while ;).  I will leave you with a cute puppy picture:

Catch ya later!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Hello world!”

RSS Feed for From 14 to 4! Comments RSS Feed

way to go! All I can say for shin splints is ice and stretch. good luck!

Thanks for the tips. I will try to ice more. At least the splints don’t bother me while I am running!

Congratulations on your first post! Excited? I know I was!

Thanks! and yes, very excited!

Good luck on your 5k! And I think a 9:49 is a pretty good pace


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

